Thread: Corpsman Billet Openings

Corpsman Billet Openings

Can anyone offer some insight into the manning levels? Are there particular times of the year when billets open up?

For example, how often do they hold the Placement Exams? When people promote, is that when new billets at the lower rates open up?

I'm curious to know if there are certain times or seasons when it is more likely that HM billets are available.

Thanks in advance!

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Can anyone offer some insight into the manning levels? Are there particular times of the year when billets open up?

For example, how often do they hold the Placement Exams? When people promote, is that when new billets at the lower rates open up?

I'm curious to know if there are certain times or seasons when it is more likely that HM billets are available.

Thanks in advance!
    I am no expert on manning levels or man power planning so if anyone is more aware on this topic feel free to correct me or add on.

With that out of the way, manning is not a direct result of any one thing and neither is it like counting beans where 5 people get promoted and viola instantly now there are 5 empty spots at the very bottom that recruiters are scrambling to fill. Manning levels are projected out several years. They take in to account advancements, retirements, separations, current recruiting, transfers, cross rates, etc... And from there use this 10 page long mathematical formula where a server the size of the empire state building computes out everything, puffs out smoke and a small piece of paper prints out with exact numbers and when. And then a bunch of brass sit around a table and argue about the numbers for several days never coming to a conclusion and doing what the paper said anyways, lol.